Jun 17, 2024  
2023-2024 Catalog 
2023-2024 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Professional Accounting Certificate of Advanced Study*

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Degrees and Program Requirements

Program of Study

The State of California requires that all applicants for the Certified Public Accounting (CPA) license complete 150 semester-units of education. The Certificate of Advanced Study in Professional Accounting (CASPA) provides a pathway for Accounting students and graduates to meet the 150-semester-unit requirement for the CPA License in California. Students and accounting professionals who need additional units to meet the 150-unit requirement can complete a series of accounting and business courses and earn a CASPA.

The CASPA program offers a selection of graduate-level accounting courses that combine into a 12-semester-unit certificate. The selection of courses offered in the CASPA program are based on a combination of the accounting courses required for licensure, required by regional Master’s in Accounting programs, and courses addressing knowledge and skills beneficial to the careers of the region’s accounting professionals. The classes have been developed and will be taught by accounting faculty members as well as practicing accounting professionals in the region. Each class is designed to engage students by integrating theories and real world applications.

  • The program is designed for those with a Bachelor’s degree in Business or current students with senior standing in a college of business administration with relevant skills/experiences in accounting.
  • Applicants must submit the online CASPA Program Application.
  • Applicants must submit a current resume.
  • Applicants must mail hard copy transcripts from all colleges and universities attended to:

California State University San Marcos
Extended Learning
Attn: Student Services/CASPA Program
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Rd.
San Marcos, CA 92096

In order to earn the CASPA, students must have an average GPA of B (3.0) or higher for the 12 units completed and must have earned at least a C (2.0) in each of the courses.

*The Certificate of Advanced Study in Professional Accounting is offered through Extended Learning.

Total (12 Units)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Degrees and Program Requirements