The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

    California State University San Marcos
   
 
  Oct 20, 2017
 
2016-2018 Catalog 
  
2016-2018 Catalog

Academic Calendar



2016-2017 Academic Calendar

SUMMER 2016 Term

June 6 (Mon) First day of classes for 10-week Summer classes and classes in first half-Summer block
July 4 (Mon) Independence Day holiday — campus closed
July 9 (Sat) Last day of classes for classes in first half-Summer block
July 11 (Mon) First day of classes for classes in second half-Summer block
August 1 (Mon) Initial Period for filing applications for Spring 2017 begins
August 13 (Sat) Last day of classes for 10-week Summer classes and classes in second half-Summer block
August 18 (Thur) Grades due from instructors; last day of Summer term

FALL 2016 Semester

August 23-26 (Tue-Fri) Faculty pre-instruction activities
August 25 (Thur) Convocation for faculty and staff
August 29 (Mon) First day of classes
September 5 (Mon) Labor Day holiday — campus closed
October 1 (Sat) Initial period for filing applications for Fall 2017 begins
October 21 (Fri) Last day of class for first session of Fall half-semester classes*
October 22 (Sat) First day of class for second session of Fall half-semester classes*
November 11 (Fri) Veterans Day — campus closed
November 24-25 (Thur-Fri) Thanksgiving holiday — campus closed (No classes scheduled for Saturday, November 26)
December 10 (Sat) Last day of classes
December 12-17 (Mon-Sat) Final examinations
December 22 (Thur) Grades due from instructors; last day of Fall semester
December 26-January 2 (Mon-Mon) Staff accumulated holidays — campus closed

SPRING 2017 Semester

January 18-20 (Wed-Fri) Faculty pre-instruction activities
January 23 (Mon) First day of classes
March 17 (Fri) Last day of class for first session of Spring half-semester classes*
March 18 (Sat) First day of class for second session of Spring half-semester classes*
March 20-25 (Mon-Sat) Spring break
March 31 (Fri) Cesar Chavez Day — campus closed
May 12 (Fri) Last day of classes
May 13-18 (Sat-Thur) Final examinations
May 19-20 (Fri-Sat) Commencement
May 25 (Thur) Grades due from instructors; last day of Spring semester

(Note: This calendar is not intended to be construed as an employee work calendar.)

*Some Fall and Spring semester classes meet in a half-semester term.

2017-2018 Academic Calendar

SUMMER 2017 Term

June 5 (Mon) First day of classes for 10-week Summer classes and classes in first half-Summer block
July 4 (Tue) Independence Day holiday — campus closed
July 8 (Sat) Last day of classes for classes in first half-Summer block
July 10 (Mon) First day of classes for classes in second half-Summer block
August 1 (Tue) Initial Period for filing applications for Spring 2018 begins
August 12 (Sat) Last day of classes for 10-week Summer classes and classes in second half-Summer block
August 17 (Thur) Grades due from instructors; last day of Summer term

FALL 2017 Semester

August 22-25 (Tue-Fri) Faculty pre-instruction activities
August 24 (Thur) Convocation for faculty and staff
August 28 (Mon) First day of classes
September 4 (Mon) Labor Day holiday — campus closed
October 1 (Sun) Initial period for filing applications for Fall 2018 begins
October 20 (Fri) Last day of class for first session of Fall half-semester classes*
October 21 (Sat) First day of class for second session of Fall half-semester classes*
November 10 (Fri) Veterans Day (observed) — campus closed (No classes scheduled for Saturday, November 11)
November 23-24 (Thur-Fri) Thanksgiving holiday — campus closed (No classes scheduled for Saturday, November 25)
December 9 (Sat) Last day of classes
December 11-16 (Mon-Sat) Final examinations
December 21 (Thur) Grades due from instructors; last day of Fall semester
December 25-January 1 (Mon-Mon) Staff accumulated holidays — campus closed

SPRING 2018 Semester

January 17-19 (Wed-Fri) Faculty pre-instruction activities
January 22 (Mon) First day of classes
March 16 (Fri) Last day of class for first session of Spring half-semester classes*
March 17 (Sat) First day of class for second session of Spring half-semester classes*
March 19-24 (Mon-Sat) Spring break
March 30 (Fri) Cesar Chavez Day (observed) — campus closed
May 11 (Fri) Last day of classes
May 12-17 (Sat-Thur) Final examinations
May 18-19 (Fri-Sat) Commencement
May 24 (Thur) Grades due from instructors; last day of Spring semester

(Note: This calendar is not intended to be construed as an employee work calendar.)

*Some Fall and Spring semester classes meet in a half-semester term.